Hodera Q&A

All questions are answered by Matt Smith of Hodera.

1. Introduce yourself and your role in the band.

I’m Matt Smith. I’m the lead singer and rhythm guitarist in the band Hodera.

2. How’d you come up with the name Hodera? What’s it mean to you guys?

I was researching literary symbols one day and I came across an ornamental Ivy leaf called “hedera.” Hedera is the scientific name for Ivy but I didn’t like how it sounded. So I changed the ‘e’ to an ‘o’ and came up with “Hodera”.

3. How did you guys meet and form the band? 

I met Matt C when we started the band Epilogues. When Epilogues ended we formed Hodera. Matt C brought his friend Nick V in and then we found Nick B through an ad we put out.

4. What made you guys go for that Alternative / Indie Rock sound?

I don’t think we’re trying to go for a certain sound. That’s just how I write and how we all play. Our sound is developing and changing as we go.

5. So you just finished up your East Coast & Midwest tour dates…how was that tour for you guys?

It was a lot of fun! We sold out of CD’s and we met a lot of friends!

6. Who are some artists/bands that you draw inspiration from?

I’d say I draw inspiration from musical experimentation and emotions more so than than specific bands. For example, finding a new tuning will inspire me to write a new song, fueled by whatever is currently happening in my life.

7. Now you’ve released “Reset to Default” back in June, what was the hardest song to write/record on the EP…which was the easiest? 

All the writing came pretty easy. The hardest to record was “Tell Me Something I Can Do” because we had to keep the emotion in the song while playing to a click track. And in an emotional song that builds and recedes there tends to be a fluctuation in tempo. The easiest song to record would probably be “She Knows Because She Read It In A Book Once” because it’s a simple and fun song that only has 3 parts to it.

8. If you could have anything happen at one of your shows, what would it be and why?

Just to have people love our music as much as we do and vibe with us while we’re playing.

9. Where is your favorite place to eat on tour?

Personally, I am not a fan of tour food haha. So I’m the last person in the band who should be taking this question. I eat healthy but have to break my healthy diet on the road. I must say I’m a huge fan of making like coffee mixed drinks at gas stations. I mix 1/3 coffee with all types of hot chocolates, steamers, and anything else in that flavored hot drinks machine. I know the band loves Cookout because we don’t have those in NJ.

10. Is there anything else you’d like to say? 

I (Matt Smith) have been thinking of putting down the guitar to explore new instruments for the next album.

Facebook.com/hoderaband

Leave a Reply

