East Of Eli Q&A

1. Introduce yourself with your name and a fun fact about yourself.

Hello, my name is Nathan West and one time I was on vacation with my wife in Puerto Vallarta, when a group of crazy teenagers chased me screaming out, “Enrique!!! Enrique!!!” I tried to tell them I wasn’t Mr. Iglesias, but they didn’t believe me so I swam out into the ocean and stayed there until they left.

2. Where did you come up with the name East of Eli?

The name “East of Eli” came to me when we were in the studio recording. The music on the, Nothing Ordinary EP, is a collection of songs that a writer/director friend of mine used, to create the outline for an independent feature we’re producing next year called, Into The Mystic. I named the main character in the film, Eli and I wanted to find a way to bridge the music with the feature so I started playing around with potential band names that had the name Eli in them. Eventually I landed on “East of Eli” because the main character heads East to Morocco to deal with his past.

3. What is your song “Nothing Ordinary” about?

Nothing Ordinary is a simple song about the art of letting go. Life is full of twists and turns. Some we expect and others we do not. Sometimes it’s just best to let go and allow the rhythm of life to take control.

4. You have your EP, Nothing Ordinary, coming out March 30th. What can people expect to hear on that, and what was your mindset going into the creation of it?

This EP consists of 5 of my favorite songs that I’ve written. There’s a lot going on in the lyrics of each one and the melodies are at times deeply moving because you can feel the emotion within the music. I’m really proud of what we’ve created and feel its going to surprise a few people.

5. What was the most difficult song to write?

The most difficult song to write was, “Start Again.” That one took me over 10 years to complete! I know that’s a long time to let a song sit, but I felt is was important to allow that song to take shape when it was ready. To me, “Start Again” ended up being like a fine bottle of wine.

6.What’s the hardest and easiest parts of writing and recording a song?

Writing and recording a song is a truly unique experience. I love it so much because no two songs are the same and although some are harder than others, every song finds it’s way eventually if you stay the course. I think the only hard part for me is when the recording process is complete and it’s time to close up shop.

7. What do you hope that fans will take away from this EP?

My hope is that people will see past the actor and find the musician.

8. Now you’ve been on TV and in movies, how did your music career get started?

Honestly, it was about 2 years ago when I decided it was time to share my music. I approached a close friend of mine, Johann Frank, who is an amazing guitar player and brilliant musician, and told him I had this idea about recording an album and I wanted him to produce it. He told me he wasn’t a producer and I replied, “Well congratulations, now you are!” He’s done such an amazing job and he’s brought so many incredible talents to the project like his producing partner Jorge Costa who owns Red Cello Productions in LA. The three of us together has been magical to say the least and the best part is, we are just getting started. We’ll be back in the studio in June to finish the full album and I’ve got a few cool ideas brewing. I don’t believe in being genre specific so all I can say is, expect the unexpected.

9. What’s your favorite part about playing shows?

My favorite part about playing shows is connecting with the audience through the music. There’s nothing like it. I see music as a movement, not as performance. So in my mind, my job is not to get everyone to focus on me. My job is to lead everyone into a place where they can connect to songs as if they were their own.

10. Is there anything else you’d like to say?

Thank you for your time and I look forward to when we cross paths again.

Facebook.com/eastofeli

Leave a Reply

