Brett Steinberg Q&A

1. Introduce yourself and say what you do.

Hello! My name is Brett Steinberg and I am a singer/songwriter from Connecticut. I play piano, sing, and record music.

2. For people who haven’t heard your music before, how would you describe your sound?

In a general sense it’s piano driven pop/rock. Picture someone who tries to emulate influences like The Beatles, Coldplay, The Fray, and Billy Joel but fails in doing so and in result creates his own unique sound. That’s what I’d say I sound like.

3. Which bands or musicians have had the most influence on your music or way of writing?

Coldplay have influenced my writing heavily. John Mayer is the first singer/songwriter who I really gravitated to. Gavin Degraw is also a big singer/songwriter who I really loved and listened to when I began. I still listen to all of them a lot, but I’ve added onto my influences list, naturally.

4. What was your writing process like for your new album?

Really natural. I would mostly go to the piano and fool around with different ideas for chord progressions. When I found something that I liked, I usually created a melody to accompany the specific section and then wrote the lyrics. If inspiration wasn’t there one day, then I didn’t force it. If it was, then I would write as much that came out. There was a big streak of a couple weeks in which I was really inspired, especially concerning melody creation.

5. Which song of yours is your favorite? Why?

At the moment, I’d say “Not Turning Back” from my upcoming record. It’s got an upbeat feel to it and makes me think of road tripping with friends.

6. What has been your favorite place to play at so far?

Probably The Space in Hamden, CT in terms of the crowd. I’ve had the opportunity to play at many nice venues though, so it’s a tough question. In terms of venue, I really like The Bitter End in NYC because it has an intimate vibe inside, and when you walk outside you are in the heart of one of the greatest cities in the world .

7. If you could have anything happen at one of your shows, what would you want it to be?

Great question! It would be cool for a bunch of people in the crowd to know some of my lyrics to my new songs and sing them along with me. All I can ask for though is for the crowd to vibe on, and relate to, my songs. Even that is spectacular when I perform.

8. What’s your favorite part about playing shows?

My favorite part is the face-to-face interaction I get to have with the people listening. I can see them listening to the lyrics and we all seem to be on the same page. I love sharing my music with people, but when I can play live for them, I feel a deeper connection with the people listening.

9. Would you rather sell one billion copies of an album that doesn’t mean anything personal to you OR 100 copies of an album that means the world to you?

100 copies of an album that means the world to me. There’s no point in creating if you’re doing it for the wrong reasons.

10. Would you rather be late to a show OR mess up on stage?

Neither! But if I have to choose, mess up on stage because at least then I am not being unfair to the venue and people who paid to see a show…as long as the mess up is not THAT terrible.

11. Would you rather go back in time and see the old music scene OR go to the future and see what it turns in to?

Probably the future so I can understand the changed dynamics of the scene. The music scene is always changing, so being able to stay ahead of the curb would be beneficial.

12. Would you rather have a major recording company viewing your show OR your biggest inspiration?

I would rather play for my biggest inspiration. At the end of the show if both were to give me advice and maybe a pat on the back, the feedback from my inspiration would have so much more validity and depth for me.

13. What do you want fans to take away from your music?

I want fans to find comfort in my music and to know that they are not alone in their battles and in their high moments. I want my music to reveal the common threads between people. I want people to take away hope from my music too.

14. Anything else you’d like to say? 

You can get my album “Until We See the Sun” on December 17th via iTunes. Also, keep up with my happenings by following me on twitter: @OfficialBrett … Thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

