Icarus The Owl Interview

1. Introduce yourself with your name, role in the band, and a fun fact about you.

I am Joey Rubenstein, and I sing and play guitar. I love Wes Anderson movies.

2. When did the band form and how did you all meet?

The band was formed in 2009. We met via social networks. We were all looking for the same thing.

3. How has your fan base changed since you first started out?

It has gotten bigger and more loyal. Our original fans tell their friends about us and then it grows. Some of our original fans, I don’t even consider fans anymore- they are just friends who happen to like and support our band.

4. What’s your writing process like?

The beauty of being the vocalist and one of the guitar players is that I get to write for both parts. Once I feel uninspired on the guitar, I can always start writing lyrics or vocal melodies. A typical writing night for me is noodling on the guitar for hours and hours until I play something I really like. I will then loop it, count the time signature, and then write an accompanying guitar part. Once I am happy with it, I will write it into a program called Guitar Pro so I won’t forget it. If I am with Rob (drums) he will be drumming along to the loop I made and writing the best possible drum part to it and then also importing it into Guitar Pro. That’s just an example of one of the ways we write certain parts. I sing melodies into my phone a lot because they will come to me at the most random times.

5. What’s your favorite part about touring?

Playing music every night and witnessing the kindness of strangers.

6. What’s your least favorite part about touring?

Driving through the snow.

7. How do you usually get ready before a show?

Zach (bass/back up vocals) and I do vocal warm ups for about 15 minutes. We end up spending an extra 10 minutes making up terrible songs to make each other laugh. Rob sets up his drum kit off to the side so we can load on the stage as quickly as possible. He warms up on his practice pad to a metronome after he’s all set up. AJ (lead guitar) does certain finger stretches.

8. What’s your favorite song to play live?

“Love Always, Leviathan” because I love the way it builds up at the end. It’s a good way to end the set.

9. What kind of message would you like fans to get from your music?

If they can relate in anyway to my lyrics then I will be honored and happy. Musically, I’d like them to think we are multi-layered. It’s always more fun when you like a band on first listen, but then the more you listen, the more things you discover.

10. Who or what are your main influences?

I write very honestly about my life. It’ll be shrouded in metaphors, but it’s coming from a very honest place. I am musically influenced by a lot of bands, but some of my favorites are Thrice and Copeland.

11. If you weren’t in a band, what else do you think you would you be doing?

I have no idea. I was a math major in college, so probably something with math. I have always liked math. But i’d be lost without music.

12. How would you describe your music to someone who’s never heard it before?

I struggle with this on a daily basis, especially if they aren’t familiar with the sub genres people put us in. I would say pop/rock with interesting rhythms and guitar riffs. If I say rock people assume Nickleback and if I say pop people assume Britney Spears. Genres are tough.

13. If you could tour with anyone, who would it be?

Blink 182. My 15 year old self would be so mad at me if I didn’t answer with Blink. They’d be so funny and cool to be around and I am still a fanboy.

14. What can fans expect from you in the future?

New music, more touring, and hopefully a more interactive way to show you how we write and create our music.

15. Is there anything else you’d like to add?

Thanks for giving us the time of day 🙂

Facebook.com/Icarustheowl

Leave a Reply

