Southerland Nights Interview

1. Introduce yourself with your name and role in the band.
My name is Adam Elara and I’m the lead singer and play guitar in Southerland Nights.

2. When did the band form and how did you all meet?
I’ve known Andy for about 8 years, and our drummer for about 2 months now. We started the band in 2011 and we’ve had members come in and out so we’re still trying to get everything together.

3. Where did the band name “Southerland Nights” come from?
When we first started playing as a band we played on a street called Southerland Way. It’s where I met our old drummer. We had a lot of good memories at that spot, playing with other bands and just hanging out, so we figured we’d name ourselves Southerland Nights because of it.

4. What influences the production of your music? 

There are all different shifts in the sound of our music. Some of our older stuff doesn’t sound as good because most of it was recorded in kitchens or garages. Our newer music is a lot different than our old music. We have all kinds of influences like punk, metal, alternative.

5. What’s your writing process like?
Our writing process really just depends on the song. It could start off with me playing guitar and getting an idea. Or having vocals come first, it really depends. Its not really a 1, 2, 3 process; it’s a journey of writing. Every time I write I learn more about myself through each song.

6. How do you know when a song is absolutely done?
Its hard to tell. I never really know when a song is finished. Sometimes I think it’s good and done but then I second-guess myself. I’m my own worst critic when it comes to that.

7. What’s your favorite part about playing shows?

Our favorite part about playing shows is getting to see and meet people in person. It’s one thing to know they support us through the internet, but it’s a totally different thing meeting them in person.

8. If you could have anything happen at a show, what would you want it to be?
I think I’d really just like to see people at our shows and having fun and enjoying themselves.

9. Is there any specific message you, as a band, want to get across to your fans?
Everyone should follow their dreams. Do what you love and want to do and don’t let anything stop you from doing what you want. That’s how I got to where I am today.

10. Your music video for “Your Poison” is in black and white with red being the only color, what was the reason behind doing that?
The director of the video really came up with the main idea, and the colors are because our bands colors are black, white, gray and red, so that’s where those colors came from.

11. Would you rather have a major recording company viewing your show or play in front of your biggest inspiration?
I don’t care who’s in the audience because an inspiration shouldn’t make or break your performance. I always say I never want to meet my heroes so I guess a recording company.

12. Would you rather sell one billion copies of an album that doesn’t mean anything personal to you or sell 100 copies of an album that means the world to you?
I would rather start off selling a billion copies of a bad record because you can always move on from there and make it even better that means a lot to you.

13. Is there anything else you’d like to say? 

Thanks for doing this. Be safe and be strange!

Facebook.com/SLNEmpire

Leave a Reply

