WVM Interview

1. Introduce yourself with your name and a fun fact about yourself.

My name is WVM, the letters don’t stand for anything it’s just WVM. A fun fact about myself? I used to be a hardcore gamer for a bit but I gave that up quickly because it takes up too much of my time. I haven’t played a game in years and really have no desire to as my focus is entirely on my music and art.

2. When did you begin making music and how was your interest in music sparked?

I started playing at about five or so. I am entirely self taught. For many years I had no idea how to tune a guitar but I played it just to make noise. At the time, the guitar was as big as my body when I first started. I moved on to piano, still self taught and I had no idea what I was doing for years. In a lot of ways I believe this lack of formal training shaped the way I create music. My music comes from the view point that there are no rules to be guided by. I just create the sounds I want to hear.

3. Where do you draw inspiration from and which artists have had the most influence on your writing?

I draw inspiration from a number of different sources such as films and paintings to the sounds of rain hitting my roof or the sound of footsteps in a quiet room. I don’t think any artist really has an influence on me as much as perhaps has inspired me. Aphex Twin is a huge inspiration, as is Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, Gary Numan, John Lennon, The Cure, Ministry, Depeche Mode, Radiohead, David Bowie, Beethoven, Bach, and Electric Light Orchestra.

4. You worked with many seasoned musicians such as members of Nine Inch Nails and A Perfect Circle. Tell us about that experience and how it affected your writing.

It really hasn’t affected my writing as much as it has affected the overall feel of the tracks because of the energy from the drums. I had the tracks all written out for Chris and Josh via a drum machine which they listened to and duplicated, but because of their talents as musicians even though they played what I wrote, the energy and dynamism in their playing really lifted the percussion elements to new levels in my songs. This type of energy is something that is hard to capture with a machine. Some say a drum machine has no soul. I disagree with that statement. The soul of the drum machine is found within the hands of the person playing or programming it but just as the sounds of a drum machine have certain characteristics so do the sounds that come from a live percussive performance. For these songs I wanted to capture a live feel in the drums. There is something always primal and raw about the feel of real drums and a real drum performance, especially in the hands of Josh Freese and Chris Vrenna, who happen to be two of my favorite drummers.

5. What has been the most difficult obstacle for you to overcome and how did you do it?

That’s a tough question. I think in regards to this album it has been trying to create an album with the highest level of production possible on an extremely small budget. I am completely independent, although I am considering signing to a label, it all depends on the kind of label. Recording is quite expensive even if you do it in your bedroom. For example, the second half of this album will be more saturated with analog synths and I will incorporate more analog equipment to give it certain characteristics. Of course analog equipment is not inexpensive so the challenge is realizing the vision but at the same time remaining within a budget. A lot of that involves experimentation. I actually fervently believe in experimentation, so many ideas and results come about by simply experimenting.

6. If you could have anything happen at a show of yours what would you want it to be?

I’d like for a UFO to hover for a bit and then land in the middle of the audience. I’d like for the visitors to come out and join everyone, enjoying the show while it rained but no one cared and everyone was together as one listening to my music and having a great time. Then suddenly an orgy breaks out and there is a massive sea of naked bodies, both human and alien.

7. How is the music scene in Los Angeles?

Well, I’ve been tied down recording and creating. I really haven’t done much else for a solid year or so, so in many ways I have no idea what’s going on in the outside world but I like it that way.

8. What can we expect in the future from WVM?

The title of the record, “The End Is Only the Beginning,” comes from the fact that the second half of the record is much darker and electronic in nature than what has been released thus far. What you can expect is a much more aggressive and experimental second half, the end is really the beginning of the album to come after this one. Where the first half of the record is dark, it still has a sense of hope to it. The second half slowly sees that hope unravel into a fight to overcome and realize the true nature of existence and the parameters in which we all live in. What I mean is no one knows anything, not religion, not science, no one knows anything. We are all blind and fully naked in a dark room feeling our way around this existence. The second half of the next record will end as this record begins, with a sense of hope and melody.

Check out WVM here:

Leave a Reply

